Staff and Board Members

Our Staff:  
Executive Director: Joy Melton
Administrative Coordinator:  

Board of Directors:
President Jill Dunlavy, Shell Lake
Vice President Bill Marx, Spooner
Treasurer Jill Dunlavy, Shell Lake
Secretary Kevin Pagorek, Minong
Member Mark Wallskog, Minong
Member Steve Smith, Washburn County Representative
Member Scott Roppe, Birchwood
Member Representative, Shell Lake
Member Brian Berg, Washburn County Representative
Member Representative, Stone Lake
The WCEDC Board of Directors is composed of no less than nine (9) or no more than eleven (11) persons elected by the membership at its Annual meeting held the third Wednesday of June at the WCEDC office at 208 Vine St Spooner, Wisconsin or a site (TBD). The Directors shall be serve three (3) year staggered terms so that one-third (1/3) of the Directors are elected each year. The Directors shall be from and serve the major geographical areas within Washburn County.

The Board of Directors meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 8:30 AM at the WCEDC office.

The WCEDC provides assistance:
  1. By marketing and selling the county’s many attributes and amenities to industries and businesses
    outside Washburn County
  2. By networking with county, regional, state and national agencies to provide business technical assistance to new
    and existing business and industry
  3. By working with area lenders and commercial borrowers to develop financing solutions and alternatives for business
    development and expansion
  4. By working with Washburn County Industrial Development Agency that provides secondary and “gap” financing
    through the Revolving Loan Fund of Washburn County
  5. By assisting and facilitating with business training needs
  6. By networking with commercial realtors and local officials on commercial and industrial sites within the county

Washburn County Economic Development Corporation is a U.S. Internal Revenue Service (IRS) approved 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation and all contributions are tax deductible.